Record breaking performance by Austrian winner | Ötztaler Radmarathon 2019

Record breaking performance by Austrian winner | Ötztaler Radmarathon 2019

other Video
Published 04 October 2019


4.285 participants startet the legendary race of the Oetztal Cycle Marathon yesterday morning.
Among the competitors was the overall third of Tour de France 2011 Fränk Schleck (LUX), triple MTB marathon World Champion Alban Lakata (AUT) and the Austrian ski jumping legends Andreas Goldberger (double champion of the Four Hills Tournament) and Olympic Team Champion Martin Koch. But the majoritiy of the participants were amateurs from 34 nations.
After 4 steep Alpine passes, 238 kilometres in distance, and 5,500 metres in altitude it was Mathias Nothegger (AUT/Bregenz) who crossed the finish line first: He managed to defend his title with a new course record of 6:47.02,3. The podium was completed by two Italians: Mattia De Marchi (ITA) on rank 2 and Tommaso Elettrico (ITA) on rank 3.
In the women’s ranking it has been years that the winner is not Laila Orenos (SUI/ Trogen). After 5 consecutive wins at the Oetztal Cycle Marathon she took rank 3 in 2019. It was Christina Rausch (GER) who took the victory in a time of 7:45.04,0. The podium was completed by Ils Van der Moeren (BEL) on rank 2.


1. Mathias Nothegger (AUT), 6:47.02,3
2. Mattia De Marchi (ITA)
3. Tommaso Elttrico (ITA)

1. Christina Rausch (GER) 7:45.04,0
2. Ils Van der Moeren (BEL)
3. Laila Orenos (SUI)